|
 |
Databases
|
 |
- The
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
(ABSEES)
- URL:
http://www.library.uiuc.edu/absees/
(UIUC only)
- Scope:
The database contains materials published from 1990 to the
present. Citations for journal articles, books, book
chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government
publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet
Union published in the United States and Canada can all
be found in this database.
- Access:
ABSEES Online is available to colleges, universities, and
other non-profit institutions for an annual subscription
fee. There is a telnet interface as well as a web
interface.
- Notes:
This is an enormously useful bibliographic resource. However,
the search form can be somewhat difficult. It is helpful
to look carefully at the help screens before beginning.
- The European
Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)
- URL: http://www1.msh-paris.fr/betuee/
- Scope:
The bibliography contains references to some 35,876 articles,
books and dissertations on the social sciences published
between 1991 and 1994. Materials included here are
all published in Europe.
- Access:
freely accessible
- Notes:
Institutions in a number of countries contribute records
to this excellent resource. It is a continuation of
the original published bibliography of the same title, which
began publication in 1975.
- Russian
Archives
- URL:
http://www.iisg.nl/~abb/
- Scope:
"This site, based on the ArcheoBiblioBase directory
and bibliographic database for Russian archives, provides
an abbreviated listing of: The current fourteen federal
archives administered by the Federal Archival Service of
Russia (Rosarkhiv),...Archives of major federal agencies
that have the right by law to the long-term retention of
their own records...Local municipal and oblast archives
in Moscow and St Petersburg" (ArcheoBiblioBase: Archives
in Russia.)
- Access:
Made freely available on the web.
- Notes:
Entries are listed by section. Each entry contains
complete information on the archive with bibliographical
references to finding aids.
- EastView
Newspaper Database
- URL:
http://dlib.eastview.com
(UIUC only - Select "IP-Address Access")
- Scope:
This extensive database includes searchable full text articles
from over 30 currently published Russian newspapers.
Most titles are archived for the last few years, but for
a complete list of the titles and the dates included in
the database, click on the Content button on the main Eastview
newspaper database screen.
- Access:
Users at UIUC may access the database directly from
the above link. For others: this is a subscription
service and is available from EastView for an annual fee.
- Notes:Simply
log in at Eastview's site from any terminal in the library.
Select "IP-Address Access". The next
screen will have a list of current newspaper titles.
Select a title and enter a search term. Your search will
return in full text any matches found in issues from the
year 2000. The archived titles are also available;
coverage varies but starts no earlier than 1996.
|
|